The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Reading guide to VOIP technology (for developers?)

Hello,

I am looking for a recommended "bibliography" of white papers and existing documentation in order to get up to speed on VOIP from a developer's viewpoint. I am an experienced Win32 developer with little or no telco experience.

I need to develop a voice conference system. My client has decided on a particular vendor's VOIP platform that (at least the sales literature) claims to be capable of what we need. I am unclear  on the significance and role of the various pieces such as SIP.

I would rather not start with raw RFCs or trying to read open source projects. Some overview reading of the technical environment would be really nice.

Thanks.
Hank Landry
Wednesday, October 03, 2007

I don't know whitepapers but I can overview some terms that you can research further.

"Signalling" includes the call setup, and is implemented by SIP. For example if I want to call you, then my phone sends a SIP "INVITE" to your phone. Your phone replies with "100 Trying" (meaning that my INVITE has been received and needn't be retransmitted), "180 Ringing", and eventually "200 OK" (when you pick up your phone), after which we can establish the media streams. Complications of the above include 3-way-calling, conferencing, call forwarding, handing-off calls from one phone to another, and the existence of a "SIP Proxy" or two between your phone and mine.

"Media" is to do with the "real-time" voice signal. The "media stream" is implemented as "codec" which is transmitted over a protocol such as "RTP". The media stream starts after the call is established via SIP.