The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Do I need to use CSS

I am relatively new to web authoring.  All my web content is created on the fly; there are no static html files.  Do I necessarily need to use Cascading Style Sheets?  Or can I just generate the necessary formatting in the appropriate tags?

The way I view cascading style sheets is that they provide a mechanism to alter the entire appearance of a web site simply by making a few changes to the css files.  But because my content is generated on the fly I can just do this in source code.

One more assumption I make is that it only supports standard browsers (if I understand correctly css can be used to alter the appearance of a site for alternative devices such as pds/mobile).

Thanks.
New to Web Applications
Thursday, August 23, 2007

You don't have to use it but it will more than likely make your life easier.  Let's say the specs change all of a sudden  and you've got to radically alter the appearance of your site.  Would you rather:

a) Hunt down every single formatting blahblah scattered all over your codebase

or

b) Edit one file (that you include on every dynamically generated page).

To be sure, if you've got some one-off formatting requirement, not all of that has to be done in one monolithic  "sitewide.css", you can inline styles, inline formatting, whatever works for you, it's one of those equilibrium things that experience will give you an intuition for.  (My experience is that centralization of this stuff does lead to lesser long-term maintenance pain, but of course ymmv.)
son of anon
Friday, August 24, 2007