The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Database denormalisation - when, why and how?

I've been following the (sometimes heated) discussion on database people versus application people. Yes, crude divide I know, forgive me.

I'm a student of database theory. And I'm interested in why, when and how people 'denormalise'.

As far as I understand it the various stages of normalisation are quite discrete steps, each level leading to the next (apart from BCNF, which seems to be 3.5NF, ish). I'm wrestling with 4NF and 5NF at the moment.

So when people denormalise, what do they do, drop a level and design application code to eliminate the anomalies that the higher level is meant to prevent?

It would be good to see a concrete example.
Mike MacSween
Tuesday, January 04, 2005

How apt - I'm working myself up to redeveloping my work database and have come to a standstill on deciding whether denormalisation is a good thing or not. When I learnt relational design 3NF was where it all stopped but I suspect that attitudes have moved on given that machine and software capabilities have shifted.
Chris Page Send private email

Ignore purity, think speed.

Take a look at an OLAP database - lots of big tables, hardly normalized, lots and lots of nulls.  And much faster than a small, tight, normalized version of the same.
i like i

So would you do a normalised version first then denormalise, or just ignore the whole idea of normalisation from the start.

What's an OLAP - On Line Analytical Processing? Is that a Data Warehouse?
Mike MacSween