The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Designing an API for your project

I'm a self-admitted beginner, in the realm of software design. I've programmed several trivial, but very helpful to me, utilities -- nothing worth public release. I do it as a hobby, because I'm fascinated with it. I've recently come up with an idea and I've set a very ambitious goal to have a working version within 5 years. I say ambitious because I really only have a year of programming as a hobbyist. Ok, enough with the back-story and on to the question. Without giving away too much of my idea, I'd like to build a community around the software, and freely offer tools and an API so that users can participate. I figure the only real way to do this, effectively, is to integrate them into the software design, before a single line of code is written. What are the techniques used when designing an API?
AverageMidget Send private email
Friday, August 03, 2007

Here's a good reading about communities:
* A Group Is Its Own Worst Enemy - http://www.shirky.com/writings/group_enemy.html

Also Paul Graham has advices of the sort of "don't make users have to register". Reddit used somewhat his advices and made the registration very painless without requiring email authentication I think. Also, Reddit doesn't make users keep logging all the time as long as the cookie is in place.

I don't know what you want to achieve, but as you see, sometimes the best way is to listen to the pros. :-)
Joao Pedrosa
Friday, August 03, 2007

Read on Guy Kawasaki's Truemors as well: