The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

architecting XMLsocket client-server

I'm at the design stage of working with a client-server application using XML sockets. I'm quite new to client-server issues in general, and I'm trying to lay the groundwork such that I won't regret things later (if concurrent users and amount/frequency of traffic is nontrivial).

It would be simplest for me to make the client simply wing out an update whenever it has one, and the server to do the same, but something about this sets off my "no free lunch" detector. So what I want to ask is, are there low-level things I should be aware of in planning how this communication will take place?

For example, suppose that different parts of my client may independently send messages to the server at nearly the same time. Is there a value in queueing these up and marshalling them, as opposed to sending several different updates near-simultaneously? (Assuming the overall size is the same.) For another example, would it be a useful thing to do for each side to queue up outgoing messages during the time an incoming message is being received, as opposed to sending out updates while the socket is receiving data?

I don't know enough to know if those two examples particularly are relevant. So what I mean to ask about is issues of that general nature.

Side note: the client will be using the flash player, which in general piggybacks all its network operations onto the browser. So if there are issues like these, but modern browsers handle them for me, then it might be that I don't need to worry.

If anyone has any thoughts, or even better knows of relevant articles to point me at, I'd be indebted.
andy
Tuesday, July 24, 2007