The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Should I Use XML?

Hi all,

I have very little XML experience, so please bear with me :)

Our company hosts software that processes health insurance claims. A customer sends us their claims in a flat file, we process the claims and send them back in a flat file (the format for both flat files is the same). However, for troubleshooting and testing, sometimes we have to edit the flat file before processing. This is tedious to do with a plain text editor. Also, each customer has their own flat file format.

What I was hoping we could do with XML is to convert the flat file to XML, edit the file in an XML editor, and convert back to a flat file. Does this sound reasonable? If so, what are the best XML tools/technologies to use to accomplish this?

Some details about the flat files. I'll use the term "record" to refer to a line in the file terminated with a <CR><LF>:

1) The fields are usually delimited by pipes (|), but sometimes are fixed-width.

2) Some files have a single claim on each record, with 1 to N claim detail lines. For example, the file format is like this:
CLAIM-ID|CUSTOMER|DATE|LINE-NO|CODE|DATE-OF-SERVICE|LINE-NO|CODE|DATE-OF-SERVICE...<CR><LF>

3) Most files have a "claim header" record followed by 1 to N claim detail records. For example, the file format is like this:
CLAIM-ID|CUSTOMER|DATE<CR><LF>
CLAIM-ID|LINE-NO|CODE|DATE-OF-SERVICE<CR><LF>
CLAIM-ID|LINE-NO|CODE|DATE-OF-SERVICE<CR><LF>

Thanks in advance,
XML Know It Not
Thursday, July 12, 2007

Just depends whether you think you'd rather spend the time writing the converters or editing the files manually. (Oh, who am I kidding -- if you're a programmer, you'll always choose the first option!)