The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Good C/C++ (or other lang) refresher recommendation?

For the past 15 years, I have been a developer of microprocessor hardware.  The hardware entry is performed using RTL (verilog and VHDL) and/or schematic capture.  By and large, my programming has been limited to some primitve C, a good deal of Python, and a great deal of Perl.  Why so much Perl?  Because others can read it and own it ;).  What I have written is primarily design automation enhancers, etc.  I would love to freshen up my programming skills and would like recommendations for languages.  I abandoned python because no one else could figure it out -- seriously.  I have rewritten tons of python code in perl for that reason.

I guess my question is somewhat nebulous, but I am just putting out a feeler to see what others think.
HardwareGuy
Sunday, July 08, 2007

Odd that your rewriting Python in Perl to be more readable - but it's a strannge world!

C++ has changed a lot in the lats 15 years from C with classes to something approaching aprogramming langauge.
I would look at design patterns and STL as much as C++ itself - this might also apply to other langauges.
Martin Send private email
Monday, July 09, 2007

The C Programming Language.
Expert C Programming.
Introduction to Algorithms.
The Art of Computer Programming
Compilers: Principles, Techniques, and Tools
Aspiring College Developer
Monday, July 09, 2007

Sorry I don't design hardware, but since you know C, I guess the modern C++ would work well for you.

Of course there are hot things like .NET, C# etc., but you don't necessarily have to bother learning all new technologies Microsoft invents.