The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Tomcat 4.1: Application reloading itself on its own, why?

Hi, all.

Up here at Acme Widgets, we're using Apache Tomcat as part of a fancy IVR application that sits over our call center.  Throughout a typical Production day, one of the log files will occasionally indicate that our IVR application's context is reloading.

Looking through the Tomcat documentation, this seems to be because the reloadable="true" element is set in the <Context> tag in one of the Tomcat configuration files.  According to the Tomcat docs, reloadable="true" should only be used in a Development environment, given the high level of system overhead it creates.

As I'm new to this particular application, and the documentation is pretty scant, I'm trying to figure out why we've configured our Production application to run in this fashion.  So, here are my questions:

1. What are some drawbacks of changing reloadable from true to false?
2. What might be causing our application to reload itself?

Thanks for the assistance!
Andy Nonymous Send private email
Thursday, July 05, 2007

At a guess, the people running the call center want the option of inserting new menu options or instructions on very short notice. If the application will reload itself, then all they have to do is copy the appropriate files to the server; Tomcat will make sure its not in the middle of serving a file to a customer before it restarts.
TheDavid
Thursday, July 05, 2007

Yes, generally that option is set for organizations that want to hot-deploy an app... as in without restarting Tomcat from the ground up.