The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

mapping class hierarchies to relational databases

Hey guys,

I'm no expert in databases, but right now, I'm grappling with the following problem:

1. Say i have class hierarchy, an abstract class that is inherited by a say, 3 concrete classes.
2. Say i want to save object data in a relational database.
3. How should i go about mapping the objects to tables? More specifically, should i have a separate table for each concrete implementation of the abstract class? OR should i have just one table with say, 50 fields, and let all objects be stored in that table? This is really bugging me, since I can't come up with a solution that can easily scale as more concrete classes are added. I'm sure that this is a problem that has been faced many times before, so i'd be interested to get your input!
Sarge Send private email
Monday, July 02, 2007

Just wanted to point out a third option, which is to have one table with the data from the abstract class, and a table per-subclass which is related to the abstract table. This probably has slightly less impact when adding subclasses, since the tables holding the data for the other subclasses are not affected.

I would also take a look at a few ORM frameworks (Hibernate etc) which can handle the mapping pain for you whilst still offering flexibility in the way your tables are structured.
Anon
Monday, July 02, 2007

Your approach is totally wrong. Instead of creating a class hierarchy first and a database structure last you should reverse it - design a properly normalised database, THEN create a class for each table. This avoids the need for that abomination called Object Relational Mapper (ORM).
Tony Marston Send private email