The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Tools for early code design/planning

Hi. I'm an "expert in my niche" sort of programmer, entirely self-taught and often ignorant of the sorts of things one would learn in a CS degree.

When approaching a new project, what tools can one use to lay out and design how it will be structured? Ideally, I mean not only the objects and classes, but more generally the features, controls, views, dependencies/references or what have you.

My approach to this has thusfar been to sketch a little on paper, stub out a few core class, then write. But I've run into the limits of this and need to do more thinking ahead. I find myself much later saying "Damn, this X can't do Y without a reference to Z - now how will I get that?" because I didn't specifically plan the outlying parts of the code. Then I have to cram in a few getReferenceToQ() methods with a pickaxe, and the angels start weeping.

Also I've realized that neither paper nor writing stubs are working for me. Writing stubs isn't visual enough, and in both cases it's too hard to revise without starting over, so I don't.

Please note that the ability to read in existing code, or output stub code, while nice, is probably not important to me as I'm using a somewhat minor language that probably wouldn't be supported.

Ancillary question: Is UML useful for what I'm talking about? Do people use it? It seems to be used under the surface for some tools of this sort, but would it be useful to understand how it works?
anon for this one
Tuesday, June 26, 2007

> it's too hard to revise without starting over, so I don't.

One strategy is to plan to throw the first one away.
(not really) Fred Brooks
Wednesday, June 27, 2007