The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Existance of libraries

Do people who write desktop applications assume the existance of MFC libraries on the target system? How about VB libraries?

I am actually a WTL writer, so this is not an issue for me, but I was wondering how others handle the matter? I was under the assumption that the vast majority of computers have all the standard libaries, such that there would be no need to either statically link to the libraries (MFC) or to distribute them separately (VB).
Tuesday, September 14, 2004
Its the runtime library that's more often the problem.  MSVCRT in all its multifarious versions.
Simon Lucy Send private email
Wednesday, September 15, 2004
No! A professional install will always make sure that all dependent dll's are properly installed.
Ken McKinney Send private email
Wednesday, September 15, 2004
"No! A professional install will always make sure that all dependent dll's are properly installed."

So what you are saying is that it is still not possible to assume that standard libraries such as MFC exist on client systems? I still struggle with this concept, as I would imagine that any standard computer would run a set of applications that would at least include one app dependent on MFC and one on VB, allowing small time developers like myself to forego these libraries in my installation. What about standard Office applications (word, excel etc.)... What were they written in, if not MFC?
Thursday, September 16, 2004