The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Databases: MySQL and PostgreSQL

I have two databases to choose from for a "proof of concept" application: MySql or PostgreSQL (these were the options presented to me).  The OS is Suse Linux Enterprise Server 10.  I have no experience with PostgreSQL, a wee bit with MySQL. 

My question here is NOT "which is better", because that has been discussed to death here. I've searched the previous posts and read many of the now - closed topics.

When Googling this topic, I found this comparison, but noted that it was slightly dated:

http://www-css.fnal.gov/dsg/external/freeware/pgsql-vs-mysql.html

My question to those that know both is: Do you think the points on the above page are still accurate, or has the releases since its publication fundamentally changed the comparison?

Much thanks
OneMist8k
Monday, June 11, 2007

I skimmed through them, but I thought that they were reasonably thorough. The only thing that I thought should be on the list is MySQL's habit of silently failing when the actual data does not meet the expected parameters.
Please note I'm talking in the past tense; this guy was good enough to mention features he knew was coming down the pike, I'd hoped he'd answer that criticism too.

In other words, I don't know if MySQL still flubs mismatched data types.
TheDavid
Monday, June 11, 2007

For a proof of concept thing, either will probably suffice. The only difference that'll affect development really is between the stored proc environment and which you want to learn if you're doing that.