The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Enterprise Web Applications: PHP vs. Java

In today's software, where so many applications are designed for the web, I often find myself trying to weigh the benefits and costs of using different languages. I am a Java developer, but I also have significant PHP/experience, and when it comes to web applications, it always seems to me that PHP is faster to develop and easier to maintain and configure vs using Java and other J2EE technologies (such as Spring or EJB3).

I've never really encountered scalability issues or had any real problems using PHP, so I'm wondering what I'm missing here. So many large web applications are developed in Java, and it always seems like configuration and maintenance are much more difficult. I realize that the n-tier architecture concept helps to separate code responsibilities and logic, but as more PHP frameworks emerge, I feel like you can do much of the same in PHP.

What are your thoughts on these languages?
Jeff Send private email
Saturday, May 12, 2007

IMO, the language (as long as it's something mainstream) is of lesser importance than the techniques used to build your scalable website.

Pick up a copy of Cal Henderson's book:
http://www.amazon.com/Building-Scalable-Web-Sites-applications/dp/0596102356
xampl Send private email
Saturday, May 12, 2007

I'd have to say that the language makes a huge difference in this case. I don't mean the syntax or libraries so much. But building a modern J2EE application is a much more complex process than building a PHP one.