The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Maintaining old code while adding new features

A bit of background first, I'm a pretty recent engineering graduate. I'm not employed as a programmer or a developer or anything like that, but a large part of my job does involve programming.

Most of my experience is in C, it was the language we were taught at uni and it's what I've written most of my programs for. I'm a pretty big Linux geek and have done a fair bit of 'hacking around' at home writing some (pretty crappy) drivers and messing around with the kernel things like that. I'd say I'm pretty comfortable with the language.

I've been working for the last year or so on some pretty low level stuff at work, interfacing with PLC's that sort of thing. I've recently "inherited" command of an engineering process, modelling and simulation model we have. The model is quite complicated and is written in Fortran, it represents well years of R&D by our company and does a lot of complex stuff (mainly Chemical kinetics and Fluid dynamics). It's now my job to maintain, improve, continue to develop etc. I've spent the last 2 months learning Fortran, familiarising myself with the inner workings of the model.

The model was written by engineers, not programmers, you can tell by looking at the code, it's not pretty at all, it's been upgraded at various points had features "rammed" into etc. A lot of things are hard coded in and it's becoming increasingly more difficult to upgrade it and add "trivial" new feature etc.