The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

should I become a project manager or a business analyst?

I've been a professional developer for about four years now and have learned as much about the financial industry as I have about programming (which is a lot, since I started out knowing almost nothing...despite a Comp. Sci. degree from a good school).

My programmer friends always looked at most project managers and business analysts with slight contempt...all they did was talk and write documents, while all the real work was done by us.  This real work, sometimes, included managing project managers and explaining the business to the business analysts.

Now that I've spent a few of my best years chasing one 'interesting & rewarding' programming project after another, I figure I need to start making better money.  Ironically, I keep thinking about becoming a business analyst or a project manager.

So far I've looked at some learning tree courses.  I am currently an independent consultant at a midsize firm so taking advantage of in-house courses is not an option.

Any ideas about my dilemma?  Is BA better than PM?  Is learningtree.com my only real option?  I should add that I'm not necessarily in love with programming anyway.  I've been leaning towards project management because:
1. It sounds like a promotion
2. It will help me when I start my own software firm
3. I won't have to do so much crap work, such as 'gap analysis' done by business analysts.

Thanks!
falcon Send private email
Sunday, December 19, 2004

I think becoming either a BA or a PM is a reasonable career move. I have a slight bias towards BA because I think it is less likely to be "offshored".