The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Latest Web-Technologies to start with

I am a newbie and want to start learning web-technologies. I want to know the best tools for designing web-sites and other latest technologies.
R Send private email
Tuesday, March 13, 2007

If you want to design web sites, learn HTML and CSS. Keep it simple at first. Leave things like scripting (both client- and server-side) and Flash out of it until you have a good grasp on things.

Once you've got a basic understanding of HTML and CSS, learn accessibility, browser compatibility, and graphic design.
clcr
Tuesday, March 13, 2007

Once you've learned the basics, you need to make a decision about what type of work you'll pursue.

Since web technologies are so easy to adopt and discard, there are a lot of them in use and they tend to be divided along industry lines, as well as the type of people who do that work. In other words, its very rare you'll decide to use a technology strictly on its own merits and you'll quite often learn and use several concurrently.

If you truely want to become a "web designer" and only that, I think you should look at one of the Python or Ruby frameworks such as Django or Ruby on Rails respectively.

But take clcr's advice and start with HTML and CSS.
TheDavid
Tuesday, March 13, 2007

I agree, stick with the basics, html, css and javascript for start.

"Latest Web-Technologies to start with" is a bad title, if you ask me. You can build an airplain with legos and an instruction set, but it won't work if you don't know what an engine is...