The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Design Patterns: Friend or Foe?

Hello all,
I am a senior C++ software engineer.
At my work place there is a younger programmer.
He is clever and hard working.
However he often design in terms of first choosing which pattern to apply. Often he ends up rewriting his code several times. I think the problem is that when you have invested a lot of effort in learning a new pattern you want to apply it, even if it is not the right one for the task at hand. Myself I always try to come up with a solution all of my self, if that so happens to be a pattern: great! Earlier I read a bit about patterns but found myself doing the same thing as the younger programmer.
I remember that when reading about design patterns part of the motivation was to faciliate communication between programmers. I do not see that happening. The younger programmer might try to explain his design his by referring to a pattern, but I seldom remember the name of the patterns. If I do I often think the pattern is not appropriate for the task or sometimes I think he has misunderstood the pattern. 
I guess If we all were pattern experts the facilitating communication point would be valid.
However I do not think it is worth the effort.
In my mind improved design mainly comes trough experience designing real software.

Any thought on this?
Thanks in advance for any replies!
Anon for this one
Saturday, March 10, 2007

Not enough information to render a judgment.