The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Scalable database servers

Hello,

I'm currently in the process of developing an application which, in the future, needs to scale up, really well. As in, I will probably need to handle around 4,000 database queries a second within the next 3 years.

Now, I need a database server that scales up well and supports full SQL; I have experience quite a lot of experience with postgresql, but am in doubt at the moment: I'm not a database expert and probably never will be. I cannot hire a DBA at the moment, and I was always told: never use Oracle unless you know what you're doing.

So basically, now I'm in doubt whether to continue using my postgresql experience with the risk that we will need to do some massive database transition in the future (which really is something I would hate to do), or trying to learn a bit of Oracle myself with the risk of creating a buggy database design (which really is something one should hate me for).

What would you do in this case, and why ?

Thanks for your input.

Regards,

Leon Mergen
Leon Mergen Send private email
Monday, March 05, 2007

4,000 queries a second is normally a trivial amount, such that I think you will be fine using PostgreSQL. I'm also assuming that you're using adequate hardware - a 150mHz Pentium II computer with 64 MB of RAM will struggle of course.

The biggest bottleneck is how you've structured your database - if every select statement has to join together multiple, non-indexed tables, that too will slow your system down.