The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Basketball & Databases

Hello All.  Kind of a weird request here.  My daughter plays basketball for her school.  One of the coaches, knowing that I write software for a living, has asked if I might know how to create a database that would allow them to get some stats on the players , the games, the season.  He also asked if I knew of any software they could buy if I could not create one. 

There are packages out their that do this sort of thing, but this actually sounded like a cool hobby project.  The only problem I have is that, even though I have watched my daugher play.  I'm not an expert on keeping score, or what would need to be tracked and then how best to track it, in order to get some good statistics. 

Has anyone here done anything like this, and if so would you be willing to share the schema?  If not could you point me in a direction where I might be able to pound out a schema to track this sort of data?

Thanks

Chris
Chris Hoffman Send private email
Sunday, March 04, 2007

I'm thinking that, before you define a schema, you should get some detail from the customer:

* What data will he input?
* What information will he want output?

Also, consider using a spreadsheet.
Christopher Wells Send private email
Monday, March 05, 2007

Usually most junior high \ high school teams have one or two student "managers" who are responsible for keeping score & stats. They probably already have a basic system in place that they are looking to augment.