The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

dynamic web dev with PHP

I am a PHP newbie and I am trying to figure out how to structure my website.

There are a lot of common elements to the pages -such as header, footer, etc- which I made into separate PHP files. I simply include them with each page.

The main issue I have is how to deal with the very many pages I need to display. Firstly, should each page me a separate file? Or should there be a single file that handles each page based on some parameter in the URL and how the user interacts with the current page? How does WordPress handle this? Any tutorials I could read?

I tried googling but I don't even really know what to google for. PHP tutorials don't seem to deal with this aspect of the design. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
PHP_newbie
Tuesday, February 27, 2007

"Firstly, should each page me a separate file?"

Assuming that each page is actually different, then yes, I'd go with this approach.  If your application is blog, that doesn't mean making a new PHP page for each blog item.  Instead you have one PHP page that loads the blog item from the database and displays it based on a URL parameter.
Almost H. Anonymous Send private email
Tuesday, February 27, 2007

>>Or should there be a single file that handles each page based on some parameter in the URL and how the user interacts with the current page?

Yes, otherwise it gets difficult setting cookies or handling redirects.
Tony Edgecombe
Wednesday, February 28, 2007

I am facing the same issues....

Let's suppose you have only one page that displays different content according to a parameter in the URL : couldn't that be a problem with search engines?

If I have

mypage.php?show=latestnews