The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Anything Not Mandatory is Forbidden

When I was in the military, we often got into the state where "Anything Not Mandatory is Forbidden" (ANMIF).  This means you MUST do what you are supposed to do, and FORBIDDEN to do anything beyond that.  It's a pretty mindless (little-head) way to be, and I don't think it is a good way to write software, or create systems.

Still, there seems to be a desire in some people to implement just this kind of system.  They don't want to RUN this system themselves.  They're trying to control the 'Operators' who do have to run the system.

As a software engineer, I've had analysis and design sessions with customers where they wanted the software to implement this kind of policy.  Thus each user of the system had a 'role', and each 'role' had things it could and could not do.

Instead of having a user policy manual, with human approvals and sign-offs, they wanted the software to 'automatically' control what happened based on these roles.

Personally, I prefer to write software that allows lots of stuff -- but the person should be trained to know what they should and should not do.  This allows the person to do things (for testing, or training, or emergencies) that they normally would not do.

If the software is written with the draconian ANMIF rule, then special 'flag' work-arounds have to be introduced in the software to say "Now we are in Emergency Mode", or "Now we are in Training Mode".  These work-arounds then make the user permissions code really complex, and the software as a whole more fragile.

Not to mention all the possible side-effects that rise up in this case.