The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Database schema design question

Hi All,

First of all, please excuse me for the long post. The post is long but hopefully the problem described is fairly simple for somewhat experienced data modellers.

I am a beginner in database design so I was hoping that maybe you can give me some advice on how to design a schema for the following situation:

I have 8 sensors; each sensor has a bunch of parameters and I would like to store all this information in a SQL database.

The information is organized the following way:

Each sensor is identified by an "Index" and its data parameters by "SubIndexes". For example, Sensor 1 could be: Index 1001. Let's say that all sensors have two pieces of data associated with them "Speed" and "Threshold"; As such, let's say that the "Speed" for sensor 1 is 5000 and "Threshold" is 10000. These two pieces of data, as mentioned before, are described by "SubIndexes", so in this case, SubIndex 1 would have a value of 5000 and SubIndex 2 would have a value of 10000. Thus, Sensor 1 could be described the following way:

Index 1001
SubIndex1 5000
SubIndex2 10000

As I mentioned before, I will have 8 sensors, so the whole information would be (w/ some example values) like this:

Index: 1001
SubIndex1: 5000
SubIndex2: 10000

Index: 1002
SubIndex1: 3000
SubIndex2: 17000

Index: 1008
SubIndex1: 2500
SubIndex2: 20000

The challening part is that I also have to store several "configurations" of the system where each configuration could have the sensors hold different data. For example:

Config 1:

SubIndex1: 2000
SubIndex2: 3000

Config 2:
SubIndex1: 1000
SubIndex2: 7000