The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Securing your program

Hi, I have been selling my app online for the last year at a slow but steady rate. However I don't have any registration or security built into the program, the main reason for this is that I don't know where to start and what I should be implementing. Sounds daft I know but after struggling to come up with a solution I thought I should ask those who have been there.

In a nut shell I'm guessing I need to do the following:

I need to take the users details on first run and then submit them to a web based db?

I need to ask for a serial number? I have no idea how to implement this. I think I need something simple to start with as I am a newbie as far as encryption etc goes.

Anything else I need to know?

Many thanks.
Steve
Sunday, December 17, 2006

OK, something simple would be to take their name and email address and do some binary tweaking of it to make it a mess, then convert it to a string of letters and numbers. This will be trivial for hackers to reverse engineer and make their own key generators, but it's a basic scheme that will at least reduce casual sharing, but it also helps the user feel like they really bought something.

Later, if you want to make it secure enough so that no one can make key generators, then you can do a public key encryption scheme, but for now this simple one will meet your stated requirements.
Meghraj Reddy
Sunday, December 17, 2006

To fill out Meghraj's suggestion.

On your web site ask for their email address.
Add a secret word or number known only to you on the end.
Calculate the MD5 this gives you a long number.