The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

How to choose a pattern for 100 concurrent users

I am an Technical Architect and I have a project which has the Non Functional Requirements of 100 concurrent users and 300 configured users, with 2000 transactions per day and the growth of storage is approximately 4GB and is a role based system accessed from throughout the world, say 80 countries.

Environment Requirement : Apache Web Server, Weblogic 8.1 SP3 application Server, Oracle 9i Database.

Hence I have suggested the following
Presentation Tier : Struts based JSP pages with custom tag libraries to meet the role based presentations.

Business Tier : Business Delegate and SessionFacade to have SessionBeans - stateless

Integration Tier : Hibernate to meet the caching needs and performance inturn.

Can any one suggest me a better approach or can give me if I am proceeding in the right direction or not.
Jayshree Send private email
Sunday, December 17, 2006

Just for clarification: Is that a growth of 4 GB per day?

From an uninformed point of view, the technology choices seem to be enterprisey enough to be able to handle it. Performance problems will probably be in the code that your team produces. I think it would be a good idea to set up a performance test suite. I wouldn't call it a pattern, but maybe a good practice.
Peter Monsson Send private email

"Is that a growth of 4 GB per day?"

2MB per transaction is quite a lot - even generated documents  (PDFs) etc. aren't usually that big.

Making sure that it is secure and that the storage scales is probably more of a challenge than writing the application.
Arethuza Send private email

Arethuza,