The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Separating the UI/Business/Data Layers

Over the next few months I'll be updating some old data-centric applications (VB6), then starting an ASP.NET project.  reviewing my old code, I realize that I'm not very good at elegantly separating out the UI, business logic, and data access layers.

In the VB apps, sometimes I would handle it all directly in the UI event handlers.

Other times I would create collections in the UI and pass them to the data access layer (by ref)then use the data access layer to populate the collections.  I ended up adding isDirty, isNew, and isDeleted booleans to the collection items to track whether to perform update, insert, or delete operations.

I could never figure out how to use batch updates when there was a business layer (which contained the collections) between the UI and the data layer.

Other times I would have the data access layer return a recordset to the calling function in the ui, and process the recordset directly in the UI.  The business logic layer would perform operations on the data, but it didn't sit between the UI and the data layer if you did a data flow diagram.

Other times I used a mix of everything.

In short, I often had too much coupling between layers, (probably) unnecessary overhead, and an inconsistent strategy on how to handle and pass data between the layers.

I plan on reading Fowlers latest information archictecture design patterns book, but until I have the time, does anyone have sage advice on how to efficiently do this?
Consistently Inconsistent
Sunday, December 12, 2004

Try looking at a code generator:

http://www.codegeneration.net/
Herbert Sitz Send private email