The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Rational Rose anyone?

Hi!

Anyone have any experience with the Rational Rose line from IBM? I'm in my second year of software engineering and the topics we're covering aren't very challenging, or fun. I started browsing the IBM website and found this.

I'm installing the trial version to play around. What's the opinion out there about this product?

Thanks!
Guillaume Drolet-Paré Send private email
Tuesday, November 21, 2006

What are you really trying to do? :)
DEBEDb Send private email
Wednesday, November 22, 2006

I have used Rational Rose for design and like everything about it except its cost.  For a cheaper alternative, take a look at Enterprise Architect.
Jeremy Send private email

"I have used Rational Rose for design and like everything about it except its cost."

Amen.
A. Nonymous

I last used Rose back before IBM bought Rational.  I liked everything about it except its price and the bugs in it.  Back then, the people who I worked with joked that Rational could really knew how to design software but didn't know anything about writing it (plenty of Win32 exceptions).

It sounds like the pricing hasn't changed; I assume that IBM has tightened up on the development.

If you want to take a look at another expensive tool, try Borland's Together - http://www.borland.com/us/products/together/

I used Together before it was bought by Borland and it was the equal of Rose at that time.
RocketJeff Send private email

Every version of Rose I've used has been awful. Rational couldn't design a UI if they tried (and they obviously didn't).

It's extremely expensive too. I'd personally avoid it.
Anna-Jayne Metcalfe Send private email