The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Database Design Question

I'm a newbie in the field of databases and I hit a roadblock: my database is going to be holding among other things, a table of customers who need to pay fees every month. The method of payment could be cash, credit card or check. If it's a check, we need the check number, .... If it's a credit card, we need credit card number, expiration date, approval number,....
Knowing that each method has its own set of unique attributes, how do I go about designing my payment tables and how do I link it to my customers table?
Thank you
DB Newbie Send private email
Sunday, November 05, 2006

I'm just a Java developer, but maybe something like:

- USER_INFO: All core details of the user
- CHARGE_CARDS: Attribute based (one card per row)
- CHECKING_ACCOUNTS: Attribute based
- PAYMENTS:
  * User Id
  * Description/Reason
  * Balance
  * Reoccurs (date)
  * Payment type (Credit, Check, Cash)
  * Payment value (Card Id, Checking Account Id)
- PAYMENT_HIST:
  * User Id
  * Payment Id
  * Payed (true/false)
  * Amount paid
  * Amount due
  * Payment date
... And then your business logic puts it all together.

I'm sure this could be further refined, though.
Manes

If the information required for a cheque is different from the information required for a credit card, then use a separate table for each. In my long career I have tried it with single tables and separate tables, and separate tables have proved to be the best in the long run.
Tony Marston Send private email