The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

javascript rant

I've just found the answer to yet another arcane javascript error that kept me busy for about 2 days.  And this isn't the first time, nor the last.

I'm a competent developer (in java) and have recently got over the spring framework learning curve and can have applications that do something useful knocked up in a day no sweat.  But when I go to the gui layer on a web app, whether fancy display or ajax techniques, javascript cripples my productivity.

Don't get me wrong, im really interested in the Web2.0 stuff going on at the moment.  The trouble is I can't get my head over it's crazy browser error msgs.  Even in Firefox it nearly always points me in the wrong direction.

Anyone out there know of must-have javascript debug/development tools?  Sometimes I wish there was a javascript compiler/verifier out there that would run through my js files at build time and give meaningful error msgs...
entropy Send private email
Friday, October 27, 2006

First things first. JavaScript is a well founded and effective language desrving of respect from all developers. I am sure you will agree that it demands just a little time learning it's underlying power as well as it's simple syntax - if developers ignore this step and just treat the language as an unimportant element at the client end of an application then they are always going to be in trouble.