The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

OOP confusion

Excuse the question - I'm not a programmer, just an interested amateur - but I'm having a conceptual problem with OOP.

I'm writing a custom TreeView class (in VB.Net, if it matters) which will have two sorts of nodes: categories and widgets.  Categories and widgets are fundamentally different things and have different methods, properties, etc.  So at present I have a class hierarchy that looks like:

CustomTreeView inherits TreeView

CategoryNode inherits TreeNode
WidgetNode inherits TreeNode

The question is this.  When I click on a node in the CustomTreeView, I need to be able to figure out whether what I have clicked on is a category or a widget.  At the moment, I have an interface CustomNode with one property (NodeType) which both CategoryNode and WidgetNode implement, which allows me to test which it is.  But then all the common code (e.g., removing nodes, renaming nodes) gets duplicated in two code paths with a big If statement.  That doesn't seem clever.  What's the "right" way to do this?
jb
Wednesday, October 25, 2006

you need a starter textbook on oop

the solution is to use classes with inheritance
the common code is in the parent class

even better would be to create a helper class to
do the common functions, and make it a member of
your 2 node classes so you don't have to use
inheritance

it's sad that you're learning OOP when it's such
a bad way to program
declarative proramming is better

Ok.

If I put the common code in a parent class, then don't I then have to go through some funny hoops to figure out which child class the object actually "is" and therefore what to do with it?

animal = New Animal

If animal.type = dog then