The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Visual Basic and New

Yesterday was a day when the high brass played programming just to show that their kung-fu was still up and alive.

He was confronting with a malfunctioning vb6 application (later he'll discover an ADO known half bug).
In the process he noticed a sentence like this

Dim rs as New ADODB.recordset.

He flamed like a dragoon insulting the resigned developer who orginally wrote the code. The he changed it with the following:

Dim rs as Object
Set rs = new ADODB.recordset

The two versions both worked. Why was it so deadly? I'm in BI and I'm not a very expert developer.
Sevenoaks Send private email
Thursday, October 05, 2006

I've not done VB6 for about three years, but I'll have a crack at this.

The first style is called implicit object creation and it declares and instantiates the object in one line. The second style is called explicit object creation. The advantage of it is that it lets you test the variable against Nothing, a test which will always fail for implicitly created objects. This is true even if you set the reference to Nothing in the line immediately preceding the test!

This is one of the reasons why I'm glad I haven't used VB6 for about three years.
John Topley Send private email

In the first statement rs is a IRecordset type. It stores the value of a COM custom interface and subsequent calls use the interface directly.

rs.Close (VB) -> pRS->Close (C++)

In the second statement rs is a IDispatch type. Subsequent itnerface calls are handled through IDipatch::Invoke.

rs.Close (VB) -> pDisp->Invoke("Close", ...) (C++)