The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Approach for system design questions

Dear all,

I'm a grad student in computer science and have got relatively less industry experience (almost nill). In my interviews I get system design questions - I'm looking for approach - how to think and on what lines to move ahead. More than correct answers, I wish to develop my thinking.

Say for example, questions like
1. How will you design Gmail server (that can serve 50 million users simultaneously)

2. How will you design a chat server (like yahoo chat server) - will you thread or forking?

3. Scalability questions.

It would be great to have sample answers to these design questions and moreover tips on directions in which i should think and factors which i should take into consideraiton.

Thank you,
Anurag Laddha.
Anurag Laddha Send private email
Thursday, September 28, 2006

Do some research on Erlang.

Friday, September 29, 2006

I'm not sure I follow on the relevance of the Erlang suggestion.  I know it has a unique approach to certain implementation details compared to other implementations available, e.g. concurrency.

The OP seems to be asking how to dissect a complex system into smaller subsystems, which is how complex systems are built.  Would you care to elaborate how learning about a specific language domain is relevant to discussing a broad and generalized problem domain?  I'm genuinely interested because I fail to see the connection.