The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Designing Database Centric Applications

I get the impression that most of the people on these forums are non-DB people. What is your opinion of making database centric applications when building larger custom systems? This is basically what I do for a living. I find developers know very little of how databases work and often do not want to use any of the features(such as stored procedures).

Most do not even seem to understand the value of normalization. What is your opinion?

It seems a large number of people in the Java Community(accept Rob Johnson) want database independence. I sent an email to Dave Thomas and he said stored procedures are 'evil'. I believe the creator of Ruby on Rails says the same thing.

I believe these forums have alot of .Net programmers? What do you think?
Ryan
Saturday, September 09, 2006

I love SPs.  UDFs, too.  Views, triggers, etc., bring 'em on.

I think many programmers avoid database-specific features for a number of reasons (several were listed in a post on this board with "bias" in the subject):

* Database code is often non-portable between platforms
* Database code requires work to integrate into versioning systems
* Learning Enterprise RDBMS is often outside the reach of the average programmer
* Data normalization is a lost art

I can't even remember the last time I saw a sample database in Fourth Normal Form.

-Matt
Matt Lavallee Send private email

and don't *ever* look at FB's database. :)

-Matt

Rob Johnson(creator of spring) wrote a very good J2EE book and he said about this

" Database code requires work to integrate into versioning systems"