The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Develop a custom word processor

I have an idea for a desktop app that's basically like a word processor but it would support a special set of markup or notation.  One example is that you would be able to "overline" selected text in addition to the standard underline that normal word processors do. 

My background is more with web applications and databases so I'm not quite sure where to start with this.  Any ideas as to open source or commercial offerings that could serve as a starting point?
JustACoder
Friday, December 03, 2004

Don't re-invent the wheel.  Take a look at your actual requirements and think very carefully about using an existing word processor. 

After all, you don't really want to develop a word processor, just new markup.
Brady Kelly Send private email
Saturday, December 04, 2004

Not sure how close of a fit it is, but TXTextControl (http://www.textcontrol.com) is a pretty fully formed word processor sold in the form of a component that you can utilize in any app royalty-free. Might be a great starting point.
--Josh Send private email
Saturday, December 04, 2004

Avoid developing a new word processor - it's most likely not worth it.

If all else fails, consider branching AbiWord, OpenOffice.org (and just looking at them in advance would give you an idea of how much work a wordprocessor really is).
Ori Berger Send private email
Sunday, December 05, 2004

The last two programs I paid for were specialty word processors.
Dennis Atknis
Wednesday, December 08, 2004

> The last two programs I paid for were specialty word processors.

Really? What did they do? I'm interested as a developer of writer's software.
Steve Cooper Send private email