The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Idea for Software - Tag-based PIM free-form Database

Firstly, i'd like to say that im no programmer, just a long time windows user and someone that has to deal with lots of information everyday.

After getting addicted on del.icio.us, i put down on 'paper' my ideas on how great a tag-based PIM would be. Basically, it's all about how outlining/hierarchical software get in the way of the user when it comes down to inputing, sorting and finding information.

You can check it out on my blog:
http://indiegeek.blogspot.com/2006/08/proposal-of-tag-based-pim-assistant.html

Unfortunately, there are no software today that meets even half of the my requirements on that paper.

So, what do you guys think on the possibility of a tag-based personal information manager?

Cheers from Brazil,

- Paulo
Paulo Diniz Send private email
Saturday, August 19, 2006

I think the benefit of TAGs is the 'social sharing' benefit: that many people can tag a document.

So, YOU might tag a this form as "programming" and I might tag it as Entreprenuership.  It's taking advantage of the "wisdom of crowds".

Tagging for a single, or small number of users has little benefit because it requires that you "touch" (tag) EVERY DOCUMENT you want to be 'findable'.  I've currently got 51,200 documents on my pc alone indexed. If you spent just 10 seconds on each one, that would be
A FAR BETTER solution is to make it searchable by keyword.

That's 8533 minutes. My time is worth *about* $1 a minute. And that's for doing something interesting.  It's 2x that for boring #@%%.

So, that's a cost of about $17,000. And doesn't guarantee you can FIND the document again.