The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Efficiency question on creating classes for ASP.NET online store

I'm working on an ASP.NET e-commerce store, but I'm relatively new to e-commerce things, so I've run into a small snag with designing the relevant classes (I'm trying to take my time with this app and develop it the "right" way).

The issue is that our product database can have products that belong to multiple categories; the products table itself (an old Foxpro 2.6 DBF) has five CategoryID fields (e.g. CatID, CatID2... CatID5), and theoretically could have tons of different attributes based on the product itself (e.g. clothing would have a style, size, color and gender).  Naturally I want to do this efficiently, but as I said I'm not familiar with e-commerce. 

First, the multiple IDs.. is there a better way of doing it than having multiple CategoryID properties for each one?  I have defined a struct for the Category itself, maybe an array of these would be more efficient?

Next, the problem of different attributes for each product.. the big issue here is that the store's products depend on the client (in effect, my company is setting up and managing the store for multiple clients, who can all have different categories and products.  Hosted e-commerce, basically), so Client A may offer Shirts and Balloons, while Client B offers Balloons and Flowers.  We have no way of currently knowing what products they offer; it's determined later on.  Is there *any* effective way to try and minimize the coding?