The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

SQL Server Newbie: how to bulk INSERT?

I'm just teaching myself how to do stored procedures in SQL Server, and how to interact between Delphi 6 Enterprise and SQL Server 2005.  I have a lot of dBASE-type DB experience including StreamlineSQL with the Advantage Database, but I have never written a stored procedure in TransactSQL until today.

I have created a client dataset in Delphi and users use that to choose one or more records.  When the users click "finish" a series of records need to be created in the SQL Server database on the server, each with the ID of a chosen record from the client dataset.  Example:

X Swimming Pool
  Copies
X Sauna

The user chose to go to the swimming pool and sauna, so two "chosen activities" records need to be created in my database.  Remember, the "source" table above only exists in memory on the client computer so I can't use it as part of an INSERT statement in a stored procedure on the server.

Here is my question: what is the best way to pass this series of IDs to the stored procedure so they can be added as separate records in a table?

I could create a pseudo-array structure using a string parameter to my stored procedure, but that's a lot of work.
Is there a simpler way?
Karl Perry Send private email
Saturday, June 24, 2006

Never mind.  I did a Google search and discovered the use of XML.  Wow.  How cool.

I built an XML structure from the data, then passed it to my stored procedure as a varchar parameter, then used the sp_xml_preparedocument and OpenXML features of SQL Server to insert it into my tables.
Saturday, June 24, 2006

Oh no! You must be joking...
Not Steve Mcconnell
Sunday, June 25, 2006