The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

OOP Question for you OO Gurus - best way to implement this?

My background is VB3 and not much OOP, however I'm trying to take advantage of the OOP approach in

I'm trying to create a visual control that provides the functionality of  a "matching" type exercise.

We show the user Answers:
A      B      C
they must match them correctly to a Cue:
1    2        3

E.g., user clicks B first.
They see:

A              C
1      2        3

I'm trying to figure out what the most logical way is to organize the data associated with this.

-User Clicks an Answer (A,B, etc.)
-Answer moves to the next "open" Cue( 1, 2, or 3)
-If user Clicks an already-answered Answer then we "unAnswer" it.
  (So if they clicked A and and it was then matched up to #1 and clicked A again, it would move back from #1 to it's original position)

-Visual controls displayed for A, 1, etc.
- Information for each Answer (OriginalPosition, CorrectCuePosition {i.e., which Cue that anwer goes with), Answered (T/F, T=use clicked it and we moved it down to a Cue), AnsweredCorrectly ( assumes Answered=T)
-Information about the "Array" of Answrs and Cues. (NextUnMatchedCue  (this is where the next Answer they click on will be matched to)

OPTION I:  put all the data in each control. 
    + seems more "object oriented" and keeps data with object
    -  couples the visual control with the "behind the scenes logic"  (I think this was always frowned on in classic VB b/c it couples the logic to the UI too closely.