The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Live Currency Conversion in Excel

I have an Excel spreadsheet to work out the bulk discount for our software (it's complicated, don't ask :) ), and I often have to calculate the prices in other currencies.

Is there a way of getting the current currency conversion rates from the web into Excel so I can use them without going to www.xe.com or similar?

I'm not a programmer, so be gentle.

Thanks!
Jean
Sunday, June 04, 2006

This site has link to download daily table in .xls format, but I don't know if it has all the currency types you'd want:

http://www.x-rates.com/d/USD/table.html
Herbert Sitz Send private email
Sunday, June 04, 2006

Here's another that's in text format with a few more currencies.  Should be simple enough to import into excel as csv (comma separated values) format.

http://www.burroak.on.ca/cih_curr.txt
Herbert Sitz Send private email
Sunday, June 04, 2006

1. From the Excel menu, select Data -> Import External Data -> New Web Query.
2. Type xe.com in the address box and click go (if you get script errors, just click the "No" button).
3. Click the little yellow arrow in the upper left corner of the exchange rate table. 
4. Select where you want the table to go (a new sheet with an appropriate name would be a good idea).

Now you can reference the exchange rates in the imported table.  An "External Data" toolbar should also appear that'll let you refresh the data whenever you'd like and fix the selection if they ever change the web page format.
SomeBody Send private email
Sunday, June 04, 2006