The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Best option for beginning GUI development

Hi all, I'm a Uni student with a fair bit of linux/unix programming  experience most of my knowledge is with C mainly kernel and device type stuff, I've dabled in Perl as well for some scripts I needed. I also know some Haskell from uni classes, which is pretty useless I think.

I've had no experience when it comes to writting programs with a gui. As an exercise to teach myself some gui skills, I'd like to write a simple app that reads data from xml files and displays it in a window. I'd like the user to be able to edit the info once it appears on the screen.

I'm wondering whats the best langauge/tool kit to use is. I don't really care about power and advanced features, at this stage I'd like it to be as simple and user friendly as possible. I'd also like the application to be cross platform if possible but its not really required. Oh and I'd prefer if the toolkit is free / open source.

I've had a play around with a few of the development tools that shipped with my linux Distro and so far QT designer seems very nice, I don't really know C++ but I'm prepared to learn it. Before I commit myself to using it I thought I'd see if anyone else had any suggestions. Some of my friends have reccomended Java to me and It's a langauge I've been meaning to learn. How does Java compare to C++ for gUI development?

Is there any others to consider like Wx or GTK+ (I had a look at glade and didn't really like it).
Matt Send private email
Wednesday, May 24, 2006

GUI has been losing popularity to Web for a while. It means that with fewer people interested in GUI, you don't have many stable and future proof solutions to choose from.