The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Java or VB for GUI

I am considering developing a desktop app and I was wonder what everyone thinks about either using VB, C++, or Java for the development. I know Joel wrote an article back in 2000 saying he didn't think doing professional apps in Java was good because they don't look like professional apps. So he preferred VB. Is this still most people’s opinion? I’ve been doing Java for the last five years, so it’s what I am most comfortable in, but I’ve done VB and C++ in the past, so I’m sure I could get back in to it, if need be. I was just wonder what the prevailing wisdom of the day was. Also, if you do think Java is good, which API (Swing, SWT, anything else…)?
Aaron Send private email
Tuesday, May 09, 2006

It's not that simple anymore.  VB is now two choices:  VB 6 (deprecated but still popular) and VB.NET (requires the .NET framework).

And if you're going to consider VB 6, you might as well consider Delphi as well.

And maybe RealBasic.

We have a team here using Java with SWT.  They are quite happy with it.  I consider this to be a very positive endorsement, as this is a team of extremely fussy people who turn crabby and impatient whenever a platform disappoints them in some way.
Eric Sink Send private email
Tuesday, May 09, 2006

What kind of application? And are you letting your GUI preferences determine which language you use for the back-end?
BenjiSmith Send private email
Tuesday, May 09, 2006

Unless the application is large, try to stick with a Native Code Compiler (VB, Delphi, C++Builder, RealBasic).  Smallish Java and .NET applications are a waste of system resources.

Nate.
Nate Send private email
Tuesday, May 09, 2006