The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

VC6 to VC 2005

I've been assigned to a project written in VC6, and I've been told by the lead programmer that they don't want to upgrade to the latest version of Visual Studio because:

a) they get too many errors when they compile in VS2005, because it's too "picky"

b) there's no benefits to going to VS2005

Now, I'm not an expert in this field, but my gut tells me that VS2005 is probably giving all those errors for a reason, and that sticking with VC6 is probably restrictive in the long term because we're not getting any benefits of newer technology.

Oh, just to be clear, we're ot converting to .NET, we're just recompiling an MFC app. And this code will be in use for the next 3-5 years at least, supporting XP, Vista and anything else that comes along.

Any thoughts or pointers to places I can find more information on this would be much appreciated. I'm just looking for clarification, without having to go back to the developers and saying "But why?" over and over again like a small child.

And I'll put on my flame-retardant suit, 'cause i know how much you guys like people like me. :) But hey, at least I'm TRYING to be better informed...
Pointy Haired Project Manager
Saturday, April 15, 2006

There are two issues:

1) Changing to a different IDE may break source code.

2) Changing to a different IDE and compiler may break dependencies upon existing binary components (DLLs and the like.)

It seems like #1 is what you think the only issue is and that's the one that your developers are complaining about.

But #2 can kill you (make the applications not even run), unless you are able to obtain updated binary components.