The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

To fork or not to fork

I am a CS graduate student working part-time for a small software company. We have only three developers (one full-time, myself, and a fellow grad student from the same university, another part-timer), so we can (and often, against my better judgement, do) get away with sloppy source-control, testing, and coding practices.

I can live with the fact that we don't have testers. I can even live with the fact that we are leaving debugging symbols in builds that go to the clients.

But the latest piece of sloppiness in the service of convenience really bothers me.

The software we sell is specific to a certain industry, and due to the nature of that industry, we need to make customizations for each new client we take on. Generally, they go into the main build, since other clients simply don't use features they don't need.

But now we are building a version for a very different client, in a very different country, with a very different culture. This means we need to include things that domestic clients absolutely should not be seeing.

Well, to avoid forking the build, the decision has been made (not, I stress, by me) to read "use this"/"don't use this" settings from the client's database, instead of producing a different "Japanese" version.

Each feature has to read from the database what it should be doing, and respond accordingly. That's fine when there are only 6 differences, but what about when there are 60? 600?

I try to object when decisions like this get made, but I am a voice in the wilderness, since "it's only a few small changes" and doing things my way would take more precious, expensive time.