The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Power Idea

Anyone using a desktop computer today knows this pain:

You are working on some code or a document and all of a sudden power is lost in an unplanned event.

In data centers, servers and racks are mostly backed up by a UPS.  What about workstations?

Does it really make sense to buy a UPS for every workstation in an office environment.

I'm an electrical engineer.  For the past 5 or so years, I've been socializing an idea that I have.  That idea is to combine the standard PC power supply with a UPS to fit into a standard ATX case.  The power cord going to your computer would essentially be going to a UPS + Power supply.

I searched around off and on and there doesn't seem to be any products that do this.

My idea could give a workstation roughly 5-10 minutes of power to safely save work.

Anyone like this idea?

Thoughts/suggestions?
The Next American Inventor
Monday, March 27, 2006

Already exists... here's one example: http://www.indocomp.com/IND-UPS200-ATX.html
Ryan
Monday, March 27, 2006

Yes it is a great idea - much like using a laptop, and I have always wondered why it is not standard yet. It is out there, but not common for some reason.
Ben Bryant
Monday, March 27, 2006

"You are working on some code or a document and all of a sudden power is lost in an unplanned event."

What's up with the power net in the US. Here in Europe power doesn't fail. EVER!

People run unix boxes with uptimes counting in years without a UPS or any other backup power.
Jeb
Monday, March 27, 2006

"What's up with the power net in the US. Here in Europe power doesn't fail. EVER!"