The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Examples of innovative web applications / interfaces?

I'm starting a new project to rewrite a large web application.  It has calandering, contacts, and various domain-specific operations.  I've lots of experience building web applications but I'm looking for cool and innovative interface ideas.

If anyone knows of any good web applications that I  should look at (for example, Gmail) I'd love to hear about it. 

Thanks!
Almost Anonymous Send private email
Saturday, November 20, 2004

Whatever you choose but please do NOT over do it. I like gmail because it does NOT over do it (in fact, in some cases it underdoes which is fine).
Pythonic Send private email
Saturday, November 20, 2004

Well, i'd say that rather than innovative use of the technologies, i'd start by concentrating on the usability and then working out how I can provide the kind of intereaction I want too with the tech available. So i'd start by looking at people like 37signals, and especially the basecamp proj. management tool they produced - look into some of their redesigns as well, especially the 37better project.

Take a look at silverorange as well, they won the award for best intranet twice from nn/partnership, and it does have some nice little deisgn/UI features.

It's loads of fun to start thinking of clever things to do with the tech available, but work out what you need to do first. If you don't do that, all the XMLrpc in the world won't make the users any less pissed off...
Andrew Cherry Send private email
Sunday, November 21, 2004