The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Is it worth it to learn WinForms?

Hi,

I am a seasoned developer. have done lot of C++, MFC, Win32 also ASP, SQL, DX etc.

Haven't had a chance to learn C#. I wanted to do a small product to learn the language and .Net. I can take two routes either do WinForms App or do a ASP.Net app.

I hear a lot that WinForms is going to be obsolete. so my question is What do you guys recommend I do in order to get a good grasp of C# and .Net.

regards
Khan
Khan
Friday, February 17, 2006

WinForms won't be "obsolete" for MANY years.

Yes, WPF is coming, but MOST existing apps won't be rewritten to use it so it is not a waste of time to learn WinForms, especially if your project is small.
Jared

Write the backend of a simple application. Say, something like a little inventory management thing or something.

Then write a desktop client for it.

Then write a web interface for it.

Heck, why not go all in and write some web services too?

Seriously though, do both. Then you will get a more encompassing feel for the framework, and the differences inherent in asp.net and winforms.

Then you can choose which path you wish to delve into deeper, if any.
cheap calls Send private email

I agree with Jared that it will be several years before WPF depricates WinForms.

However, if your purpose is merely to learn C# and upgrade your skillset, why not learn the *most* cutting edge toolset?
(The Chris Sells book is very good, BTW)

If you want to go the WinForms route, I would definitely recommend the following by Matthew MacDonald.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1590594398/willsconsulti-20