The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

JavaServer Faces - why?

So my boss wants to use JSF for a new webapp...I've not done all that much web application work but when I have I've used Struts.

I'm a complete JSF newbie, and I've been trying to hack together a small demo app.  I'll spare you all the gory details but long story short I _hate_ JSF.  Hate it, hate it, hate it.  I honestly can't imagine how anyone at Sun could ever imagine this as a competitor to ASP .NET.

I can easily get my mind around an event-based paradigm (I've done tons of work in Swing), and a request-based paradigm (Struts).  JSF seems to combine the worst aspects of each.

So my question is, is there some JSF mojo that I'm not getting?  My suspicion is that Faces is some overengineered specification like EJB, JDO, etc. made to satisfy vendors rather than developers.

Are there people out there that love it?  Would you ever use JSF voluntarily?
dave
Friday, February 10, 2006

I do not know if I would use the word - love.  If you are trying to build complex webapps, especially within a portal for commonality, it can save you a lot of effort in the UI.  I am surprised, after using Struts (and JSPs?) you find JSF that difficult.

Perhaps if you are self taught it is like learning Struts on your own.  You can do it, but I would not use the word "easy".  A two or three day JSF course may just get you over the hurdle.
MSHack

I haven't used it but I've been interested in hearing what it is like. I've been having to suffer through JSP development on a web application that was very poorly architected to begin with. It is really the pits. I was hoping that JSF would be similar to ASP.NET which is quite nice.
anon