The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Functional Specifications within Rose

I'm faced with this problem: how to embed Functional Specifications in RUP and export them from there in some XML format, preferably in DocBook. I'm a technical writer myself so please reply in English.

If side products will be needed in the export, open source is preferred but commercial software is ok too.
Docbooker Send private email
Wednesday, November 17, 2004
You need to take off and nuke Rose from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.
Wednesday, November 17, 2004
LOL, yeah, sounds like the perfect solution ;-)
Nemesis [µISV]
Thursday, November 18, 2004
Thank you ever so much, software designers.
Friday, November 19, 2004
Well, I souldn't quite describe Rose as a virus, more like a nasty meme that has infected various ill-informed decision-makers over the past few years.

As Ripley says, the nuclear option is the only way to be sure.
Nemesis [µISV]
Oh yes, and I am indeed a software designer, and have been for a long time. This is precisely why I sneer at Rose and make no apology for that.
Nemesis [µISV]
Insightful experience:

I had a software engineering instructor at a local grad school who is a senior developer at IBM (he came over from Rational in the merger).  I forget what he was SW Engr topic lecturing on, but one of the students asked whether Rational's software would handle that.

His reply: "I don't know.  I've never used Rational's software."

Considering he'd been with them for 4-5 years, I thought that was pretty telling that he'd never eaten the company dogfood.
Loud American
OK, I'm assuming by "Functional Spec" you are either
referring to a scenario-driven document using Use Cases or a