The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

simple mysql design question

Seems simple enough but I'm relatively new to db design, so I thought I'd fire it at you old hands.

Db is teh back end for a website. It has to do several things:

1: hold static multi-lingual content for the site.
2: hold info on members, payments and so on.

Is it best to create seperate (mysql) db's for these? This would have these advantages :

- easy to update static content on prod server without affecting membership info.
 - easy to backup membership info in isolation.
 - can have different permissions for the server - RO for static data, RW for members db.

Are there any significant disadvantages to this approach? Or just better approaches?
revert my buffer
Monday, January 23, 2006
1: hold static multi-lingual content for the site.

You could use internationalization / globalization software libraries instead unless the content is extremely different. That way you need to update the content only once for all the languages. Chances are that you'll simplify the design by n times (n = number of locales that you intend to support).

2: hold info on members, payments and so on.

You could have a look at the analysis patterns at and the patterns and practices articles at (dont become an architecture astronaut though). Modify the established practices to suit your needs.
Vineet Reynolds Send private email
Monday, January 23, 2006
My approach is to keep everything in one DB until you have a significant reason to split it.