The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Multi-browser support rant

I have been working on a web app, my first web app, and a couple of days ago I decided to try the website using FireFox. Wow! I cannot believe how different the site looks. It really looks like crap! So I started searching for solutions to support multiple browsers and came across quirks mode and such. Well, I have decided to develop and test with FireFox and then port, if you will,  over to IE but all of this is a hugh pain. I feel like I'm not making no progress at all and just crawling along on this project.

My background is developing GUI windows applications and now I'm thinking of scaping the website and heading for the Smart Client route with a webservice.

How do you web monkeys do this multiple browser support all day long!?!? Don’t you feel like your spending all your time spinning your whe

Thursday, December 01, 2005

You must stick to bog standard HTML, or even XHTML without using any browser extensions. You must stick to bog standard CSS, not the advanced cutting edge stuff, that is widely supported. Avoid javascript as different implementations on different browsers make it a real PITA.

I generate web pages that look identical in IE6, Firefox and Opera, so it can be done. If you can't do it, then you're doing something wrong.

I have been generating my web pages using server-side XSL transformations for several years now, and I've recently tested the switch to client-side XSLT. Guess what? It works both in IE6 and Firefox.

See. It can be done if you try hard enough.
Tony Marston Send private email