The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

MSDE vs Access as a dB Solution

I'm a hobbyist using D7Pro developing trivial (as in not all that complex - I do use some 3rd party tools) desktop apps that use Access for storage. A couple of them rely on sever stored data (Access) in order to allow multiple users - which happens rarely but could be up to 3 to 5 at one time. It's typical for every machine to have one version or another of Access on it. I'm thinking of changing the data back-end to MSDE. Primarily to improve performance and reliability but also to provide extensibility using SQL Server should the need ever arise. As it sits Access is the only database I'm relatively familiar with.
Q1) Why is this move to MSDE a good/bad idea?

We have an issue that I think using a Briefcase model would be best to resolve - for my users. In addition to the apparent speed issue (except when updating/checking for concurrency), on occasion the servers are unaccessible and will be down for extended periods (they're on ships)
while awaiting support. I'd like to have the local databases getting/saving changes to/from the copy on the server either on run/close, periodic checking the server, and/or by specific instruction (a button) by the user. I've had a look at implementation of this with Access and am not really keen on it - basically I'm afraid of blowing up the users dB :)
Q2) Is MSDE the better choice for implementing this?
Q3) Do you know of a good tutorial that would help me implement this specific model?
Q4) Is there an alternative (free/lite) dB/model that I should be looking at?

Yea, that's a lot of questions but ...

Thanks, in advance, for your time.
PNII Send private email
Saturday, November 12, 2005